It was mid October of 2003 when I had started watching football. My brother had tuned into the ‘recently subscribed’ Real Madrid Network and it was a live match coming up between Real Madrid and Real Valladolid. A plethora of stars in the Real Madrid side containing the likes of David Beckham, Zinedine Zidane, Luis Figo, Ronaldo Lima, Roberto Carlos and so many greats of the game. But apart from these foreign sensations, my heart often stuck at one player. Raul Gonzalez Blanco.

My love for Raul started when he had scored a hattrick in the very same game. Clean and composed finishes, poaching right in the goal box and taking the ball past many defenders with his swift touch on the ball. Magical to say the least. Even though I don’t carry any bias towards any player in the team, but Raul was something I could never take my eyes off. He was pure magic :’)

© Getty Images

He has had great goalscoring records for the club, great leadership qualities both on and off the pitch, great sense of humbleness and belonging towards Madrid, and above all, a great Madridista. Raul will forever be remembered for every single contribution he has done for the club, every single thing from his walk to the ring kissing celebration and also, every single moment cherished by both himself and we the fans.

He is also the reason why I started supporting FC Schalke in the Bundesliga. His arrival got me following almost every game of theirs. His goals there, contributions and many things mentioned above will still be remembered for Schalke as well.

I will always kiss my ring finger whenever I score a goal in a tribute to you. I will never forget this. I will never forget your face and above all, I will never forget you.

Gracias Capitan, ‘El Ferrari’, El Rey and El Madridisimo. ‘Hala Madrid y Nada Mas’

Yours truly
One of your biggest fan 🙂

